

PRESS RELEASE

New York State Unified Court System

Hon. Lawrence K. Marks Chief Administrative Judge **Contact:**

David Bookstaver, Communications Director Lucian Chalfen, Public Information Director Arlene Hackel, Deputy Director (212) 428-2500

www.nycourts.gov/press

Date: July 19, 2016

Chief Judge Names Members of New Task Force on the New York State Constitution

NEW YORK — In anticipation of Election Day 2017 — when for the first time in two decades New Yorkers will have the opportunity to vote on whether there should be a convention held to amend the New York State Constitution — Chief Judge Janet DiFiore today announced her appointment of the Judicial Task Force on the New York State Constitution.

A group of leading judges, attorneys and academics from around the state, the Task Force will conduct a thorough review of Article VI of the New York State Constitution, which establishes the structure, organization and jurisdiction of New York's Judiciary, and propose for Chief Judge DiFiore's consideration possible revisions that may advance the work of New York's state court system, making it more modern, efficient and accessible. The Task Force will be led by Hon. Alan D. Scheinkman, a Supreme Court Justice and the Administrative Judge of the Ninth Judicial District, and Dennis E. Glazer, a retired partner of Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP.

The State Constitution requires that the question of whether to call for its amendment be put on the ballot every 20 years. Should New York's electorate in 2017 approve the holding of a constitutional convention, the process would then call for delegates to be elected to the

convention in the next general election (November 6, 2018), with the convention to commence on the first Tuesday in April following the election of delegates (April 2, 2019).

"I am grateful to the distinguished individuals comprising the Judicial Task Force on the New York State Constitution for so generously offering their time – and their enormous skills and experience – to this important endeavor. I look forward to their insights and recommendations," said Chief Judge DiFiore.

A membership roster of the Task Force follows.

The Judicial Task Force on the New York State Constitution

Co-Chairs

Hon. Alan D. Scheinkman Dennis Glazer, Esq.

Administrative Judge, Ninth Judicial District Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP (retired)

Members

Hon. Ariel E. Belen, Mediator and Arbitrator, Judicial Arbitration and Mediation Services, Inc. (JAMS); retired Appellate Division, Second Dept., Justice

Professor Gerald Benjamin, Associate Vice President for Regional Engagement, SUNY New Paltz

Christopher Bopst, Esq., co-author of treatise on the New York State Constitution

Hon. Richard Brodsky, Senior Fellow at NYU's Robert F. Wagner Graduate School of Public Service; retired member of the New York State Assembly

John P. Cahill, Esq., Counsel, Chadbourne & Parke LLP

Hon. Craig Doran, Administrative Judge, Seventh Judicial District

Carey R. Dunne, Esq., Counsel, Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP

Peter J. Galie, Professor of Political Science, Canisius College, co-author of treatise on the New York State Constitution

Henry M. Greenberg, Esq., Greenberg Traurig LLP

Roberta A. Kaplan, Esq., Partner, Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP

Hon. Howard A. Levine, Senior Counsel, Whiteman Osterman & Hanna LLP; retired New York State Court of Appeals Judge

Hon. Juanita Bing Newton, Dean, New York State Judicial Institute

Hon. Milton Tingling, New York County Clerk

Counsel

Marc Bloustein, Esq., First Deputy Counsel, Office of Court Administration William D. Marsillo, Esq., Boies, Schiller & Flexner LLP