Skip to main content

Mexico's Federal Government Communicates New Policy on Minimum Wages

On Dec. 17, President López Obrador, alongside Luisa María Alcalde, head of the Ministry of Labor and Social Welfare, announced a new policy setting forth an increased minimum wage plus two new types of wage classes: a “national” minimum wage and a “border” minimum wage.

Currently, the daily minimum wage is set at MX$88.36 and applies nationwide. In accordance with the president’s announcement, as of Jan. 1, 2019, it will increase as follows: the “national” minimum wage will be MX$102.68 per day and the “border” minimum wage will be MX$176.72 per day.

Neither President López Obrador nor Secretary Alcalde defined the limits of the geographical areas that will correspond to these new minimum wages. However, it appears that the “national” minimum wage will apply throughout the country, save for the municipalities that the National Committee on the Minimum Wages designates for the “border” minimum wage, which will likely be the following:

  • Baja California: Ensenada, Playas de Rosarito, Tijuana, Tecate, Mexicali.
  • Chihuahua: Janos, Ascensión, Juárez, Práxedis G. Guerrero, Guadalupe, Coyame del Sotol, Ojinaga, Manuel Benavides.
  • Coahuila: Ocampo, Acuña, Zaragoza, Jiménez, Piedras Negras, Nava, Guerrero, Hidalgo.
  • Nuevo León: Anáhuac.
  • Sonora: San Luis Río Colorado, Puerto Peñasco, General Plutarco Elías Calles, Caborca, Altar, Saric, Nogales, Santa Cruz, Cananea, Naco, Agua Prieta.
  • Tamaulipas: Nuevo Laredo, Guerrero, Mier, Miguel Alemán, Camargo, Gustavo Díaz Ordaz, Reynosa, Río Bravo, Valle Hermoso, Matamoros.

The National Committee on the Minimum Wages, which has the responsibility and authority to issue these policies and to define the amount of the minimum wage, has not yet issued a resolution or an official communication on the subject, although one is expected in the last week of 2018.