Skip to main content

President Signs New Russia, Iran, and North Korea Sanctions Measures into Law

On August 2, 2017, President Trump signed the Countering America’s Adversaries Through Sanctions Act (HR 3364) into law. The bill had received near-unanimous support in Congress. The new law combines three separate sanctions measures: the Countering Iran’s Destabilizing Activities Act (CIDAA), the Countering Russian Influence in Europe and Eurasia Act (CRIEEA), and the Korean Interdiction and Modernization of Sanctions Act, in an effort to broaden existing U.S. sanctions against Russia, Iran, and North Korea.


To read the details of the new law, please read our previous GT Alert, “Congress Overwhelmingly Approves New Russia, Iran, and North Korea Sanctions Measures.”